//
you're reading...
Poetry

New Year’s Eve Photo

New Year’s Eve Photo

 

She stands in the centre

takes a step back

and shoots

one black-gloved hand as the pistol

against the light sweater of her friend

her shoulder hides her mouth

her friend stares into the camera

we’re out in the cold

about to float New Year’s Chinese lanterns

and send our wishes up into air

I hide my hand in the pocket

of the jacket with the zip that broke

I stare at her in profile

I smile

her grey coat and grey tights

black skirt and brown boots

the wish I send up later into the night

never comes true

still in that moment

last New Year’s Eve

I smile

she wears my black glove

and shoots

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

