//
you're reading...
Poetry

piercing the heart of the avocado

20.2.15

 

it had the textured hide of a reptile

I halved it with my knife

and placed the two pieces into the plate

 

the heart of the avocado

offered itself up to me

amidst the fresh green flesh

I pressed the point of my steel into it

deeper and deeper

and then I pulled

 

the heart did not budge

 

it was the sword in the stone

and I the impure knight

that could not move it

all of a moment

I was dismayed

but then the heart relented

it lost its grip

and slid away to the side

I separated the heart from the knife

and began to shred away the skin of the fruit

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

