//
you're reading...
Poetry

putting the wheels on my feet again

19.04.15

I could not remember when we had last joined forces

how long the pair of roller skates had lain in the attic

I sat down in the chair with the bag beside me

first I put on the armour on my knees and elbows and wrists

then I put the wheels on my feet

I got up unsteadily

a sapling struggling against the wind

moving was like learning the steps of a strange dangerous dance

I felt the fear of falling

I lurched towards the wall

then from the wall to the patio table

everything had become too fast

the rules of gravity and space had mutated

hours afterwards when I had taken the wheels off my feet

I still felt like I was floating in them

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

