//
you're reading...
Poetry

A Vision

This is an experimental poem I did in about seven minutes. I haven’t been writing poetry very much lately, so this is kind of a return. It’s been a largely uncreative week in terms of my personal work. No drawing and no writing. I’ve been working on designing a course about my research for secondary students instead.

 

You can see that the structure in the poem is one of addition. I will leave the reader to interpret the meaning of the poem, as I don’t wish to spell this out.

 

A Vision

22.01.17

 

I see you

I see you through

I see you through the fire

I see you through the fire and smoke

I see you through the fire and smoke and wonder

I see you through the fire and smoke and wonder what you are

I breathe

I breathe the fire and smoke

I breathe the fire and smoke and shudder

The fire and smoke is our master

The fire and smoke is our master of sense

The fire and smoke is our master of sense and will brook no rival

The world is on fire

The world is on fire and truth burns

The world is on fire and truth burns while justice turns to ash

The world is on fire and truth burns while justice turns to ash and hopes are lost

I see you

I see you through

I see you through the fire

I see you through the fire and smoke

I see you through the fire and smoke and wonder

I see you through the fire and smoke and wonder what you are

 

Discussion

One thought on “A Vision

  1. Great piece. I love the addition.

    Like

    Posted by nisipoesy | February 3, 2017, 12:24 am

Leave a Reply

